Meet our invited

Prof. Lyesse Laloui

Prof. Lyesse Laloui is an active scientist at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, EPFL. He is a member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences and the vice-president for Europe of the International Association of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering. He has a strong focus on sustainability and geo-energy topics. Prof. Laloui’s efforts to help meet society’s needs in areas such as climate change, renewable energy and the optimisation of natural resources have been recognized and awarded by the European Research Council with an Advanced ERC Grant, received Honorary Doctorate Causa Degrees from Heriot Watt University (UK) and Cluj Technical University (Romania), the “Excellent Contributions Award” of the International Association for Computer Methods and Advances in Geomechanics, the “Roberval Award”, the “RM Quigley Award” and delivered the “Vienna Terzaghi Lecture”, the “Vardoulakis Lecture”, the “G.A. Leonards Lecture”, and the “Kersten Lecture”. He is the Founder and Honorary Editor-in-Chief of the Elsevier Geomechanics for Energy and the Environment journal. His research portfolio includes 13 written and edited books and over 380 peer reviewed papers; resulting in more than 18000 citations. Two of his papers are among the top 1% in the field of Engineering. Prof. Laloui has given keynote and invited lectures at more than 50 leading international conferences.

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Adam

Dietmar Adam is the Head of the Institute of Geotechnics at the TU Wien (first chair Karl von Terzaghi). He obtained his PhD from TU Wien in 1996 and completed his habilitation in 2002. In 2008 he was appointed Full Professor.

Since 1992 his research covers theoretical and experimental soil dynamics, compaction control, ground improvement, innovative geo-materials, railway tamping and dynamic track stabilization, ground freezing, and energy geo-structures. He initiated numerous research projects with pioneering findings and is mentioned inventor in several patent specifications.

His research is reflected in 370+ publications and more than 270 invitations to presentations, keynote and special lectures. In 2010 he was the 2nd Kézdi Árpád Memorial Lecturer, in 2022 the 18th Nonveiller Lecturer, in 2023 the XXVIII. Széchy Károly Memorial Lecturer and in 2024 he will be awarded with the 2nd Balushev Lecture.

He received several awards, e.g., the Austrian State Award for sustainability in climate protection for transportation technologies.

He is the Secretary General of the Austrian Geotechnical Society, member of ``Technical Committees`` of the ISSMGE, expert of the commission of large dams and authorized tunneling expert of the Republic of Austria. He is Editor of the prestigious journal BAUINGENIEUR.

His consulting activities are characterized by a high degree of internationality; he has been fully responsible for 1,000+ projects in more than 40 countries.

Prof. Dr. Loretta Batali

Loretta Batali is full professor and habilitated for PhD research at the Technical University of Civil Engineering Bucharest (UTCB), Department of Geotechnics and Foundations and Director of the Council For Doctoral Studies. She graduated the Hydraulic Works Faculty of UTCB in 1990, then she obtained a Master degree in 1993 and her PhD degree in 1997, both from INSA Lyon France (with a PhD thesis on the Use of geosynthetic clay liners for landfills).

Topics of interest: Soil mechanics, Foundation engineering, Landfills, Geosynthetics, Retaining structures, Unsaturated soils, Slope stability

She led 4 research projects as director (2 international and 2 national), as well as 2 other projects and was member of another 7 international and 14 national research projects.

She published 9 speciality books and more than 100 scientific and technical papers in journals and conference proceedings.

She is appointed as technical expert and verifier for Geotechnics and Foundation domain (Af) by the Public Works Ministry, as well as national and international evaluator for research projects. She has a rich technical activity for geotechnical investigations, geotechnical design and consultancy, verification and expertise, as well as author of technical norms and standards and member of various state comissions. She is involved in the revision of the Eurocode 7 at CEN (TC 250/SC7), as member of PT1 and leading TG B on design examples. She is also member of the Romanian Association for Geosynthetics (ARG), after serving for 10 years as scientific secretary and also member of the International Geosynthetics Society (IGS) and of the CEN TC 189 – Geosynthetics.

Since 2021 Loretta Batali is the President of the Romanian Society for Soil mechanics and Foundation Engineering (SRGF), after being vice-president of it for 9 years. She is also member of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering (ISSMGE) and chair of the Awards Board Level Committee (AWAC)

Register Now

Candidates nominated by the national member societies of Europe should register by filling in this registration form. The Organizing committee will send a confirmation email to the nominated candidate and share all necessary details for the conference.